Raising a village.

I think I am finally ready to share the news here on the blog. waiting

I am expecting Baby no. 2 next month! I have been mostly tired and exhausted last few months and the excitement to meet the new little one is growing with each passing day.

As I punch the keys in, My mother is in the air on her way from India to Canada to help me in the initial phase post-delivery. I cannot express in words the kind of relief the possibility of her being around me has provided me.

I read an old proverb somewhere that says ‘it takes a village to raise a child’. I propose an addendum- It takes time and courage to raise  an involved village around the child. We recently  moved to this new city and have been slowly settling down. The social aspect of any move is the daunting one and we are still working on ours. The fact that I have been pregnant, a severe flu-season and the very cold winters that we have been having does not help our case one bit but we are trying. It is so hard to find deep and meaningful friendships as adults that I sometimes wish I had stayed in the place where I was born and raised . Then the community around me and my social circle would have probably included familiar faces that I  had known for all my life!

Thankfully, I have a very close-knit family on both sides and even when we are miles apart, we are connected by phone and video-chat. its not the real deal but it comes a close-second. The fact that my mum was able to come stay with me for some time which meant disrupting her life and being away from my dad for an extended period, speaks to fact that my family is as involved and interested in the well-being of my children as I am. I am filled with gratitude to have loving and giving parents and siblings. And this is what any parents wants in the village around the them and their children- People who are involved and interested, who are your well wishers and ones you can trust. Its not about throwing a bunch of people together and having a good time but having meaningful relationships that influence and shape the course of your life and bear positive fruit over time. I am seeing the beginning of a few of these in the church and my social circle but time will tell how things shape up.

As for the time being my focus is on the fact that grandma is coming!

grandma

Phir Milenge!!

2 thoughts on “Raising a village.

  1. Lovely post Soni, I so agree with you. I love the parts of having “People who are involved and interested, who are your well wishers and ones you can trust.” around you and form “meaningful relationships that influence and shape the course of your life and bear positive fruit over time.” True words of wisdom. It’s great to read your mom is going to be near you in these busy times that lay ahead and I really like your illustration of her flying over to you.
    Good luck with everything!

Tell me what you think

