Welcome 2014!

The New year is not a threshold to separate past from the present from where all things past cease to exist, it is just another milestone in the journey of our lives.

I treat it as another chunk of time to measure our performance in. At the end of the year I received a report from wordpress telling me how my blog did in the past year- number of visitors, top 5 posts etc.  All news channels and media comes up with their top ten or best-of-last-year list. Each year end I am amused at the revelry around this turn of event. I am not a party person but I am not totally untouched by the enthusiasm. Those who go all out celebrating tell me its a new year…. every thing is new. Well , not everything , but yes the resolve and the hope to do better in the coming year is renewed. It is as if by acknowledging the change in the number of the year , we are forced to take stock of what we have been through.

Even that doesnot make the new year unique. We have other opportunities during the year to take stock our performance for the year gone by, birthdays and anniversaries for example are annual reminders, Students get a report card at the end of an academic year, businesses and individual file for taxes- all these require us to lok back and take record of what has gone by.

That said the new year is unique in is its scale…..its the whole collective experience of ushering in a new year that appeals to me. It is an event that has transcended global boundaries and become an international phenomenon. In India, we have the saka calendar, and Tamil calendar and there are festivities associated with their new year events, as are the festivities centered around the Chinese new year too but the gregorian new year celebrations are on of a different magnitude than  them all. madhubani new year So wherever you are today, whether you went out to celebrate or stayed at home,  I wish you a happy new year ahead!

“…but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal…”-Phil. 3:13-14.

Phir Milenge!

One thought on “Welcome 2014!

Tell me what you think

