What a character !

Wonderful thing about the internet and the blogosphere is that you get to meet some extremely talented and wonderful people from different parts of the world. Earlier this year I chanced upon Koosje Koene Illustrations from Amsterdam via a Facebook group. I hopped on to her blog and followed along as she shared images of her sketchbook project. In March Koosje hosted a character drawing challenge on Facebook in which I participated and although  I did not win , I learnt a lot from her weekly tips and her blog. A talented artist herself, Koosje teaches an online drawing course which I hope to participate at the next available opportunity.

Tip for your character drawing: make a lot of sketches

Tip for your character drawing: make a lot of sketches

Tip for your character drawing: try to get to know your character by drawing it in different positions

Tip for your character drawing: try to get to know your character by drawing it in different positions

Anyways taking cue from her, I started to implement her suggestions into my own drawings and trying to draw characters more consistently and confidently. Right now I working on creating a little boy for a dummy book.

photo 3-7 photo 2-7 photo 1-7

Please feel free to provide your feedback on these. Which one do you like better the one with the curly hair or the straight haired one ?

I would leave you one beautiful snippet from Koosje Koene’s sketchbook project. Please head on over to her blog and other pages to see all the cool things she has been up to .

draw a character

Phir milenge!!

Tell me what you think

