Post 6: Family tree

First off: This is NOT an original idea. If you look around on Etsy or Pinterest you would find a number of graphic artists creating (and selling) some really awesome graphics and have created family tree graphics. So this piece is inspired by those original ideas. That said, I drew this graphic with my own two hands at my home.

My sister and brother-in-law would soon be moving into their new home and I created this as their house warming gift. Birds making their nests are near perfect symbols for a new home. I love the weaver bird’s nests and I decided to use that in my graphic. Rather than creating intricate details and shading , I decided to keep it minimal with bold colour blocking.

My first attempt was a bit more colourful but I felt keeping the tree and leaves in grey kept the focus on the birds, the nest and the lettering.

I am excited to see this printed, framed and displayed in their new home.

Phir Milenge!!

5 thoughts on “Post 6: Family tree

    • this does not represent the colour palette for the home, although i know they were thinking of using some neutral muted colours with a few accents here and there. A small tip I often recommend when framing a picture in a frame with mat (ikea RIBBA for example) is to colour the matting with craft colours, that way you can choose, which colour and how much of it to use on your walls.

Tell me what you think

