Distance between thoughts and action

Blogging had taken a back seat in my life over the past week. As a new returnee to the work force, I have been focusing so much on work that other areas of my life almost became out of my field of vision.

Honestly, I have been having a surge of ideas, things I want to do, things I have been seeing around me and want to talk about.

Words like clouds float above my head

Thoughts like clouds float above my head

where were they born and where were they bred

Imagination rides them and circles the globe

thoughts, they ask and answer, question and probe

Thoughts when they simmer, new ideas start to hatch

I cast my net in the sky, bring home a great catch.

If only I could bring myself to bridge the chasm between my thoughts and actions , I would be a success. Solution is well known and widely acclaimed – Discipline- but why it is so hard to implement , I don’t know. Thank fully I am not alone in this. Even Paul that giant of faith wrote “What I don’t understand about myself is that I decide one way, but then I act another….” I would attribute my lack of discipline to my human nature and make yet another whole-hearted attempt to bring order into my life.

Obviously our efforts have to be genuine if we want to see any success otherwise it would only lead to another round of failure which I don’t want. I managed to incorporate the blog in my list of things I want to be disciplined about. I wish I could write a blog which would be more about solutions than problems….but here I am almost patting my back for having good intentions and at least have the  process started.

The way things have been going on in my life reminded me of a fly-over construction in India which took almost two decades to complete. The actual work took place in a period of six months but it was deferred and delayed on many accounts. So I am hoping that this time around if I really apply myself, I would see the result soon.

Phir Milenge!

 

3 thoughts on “Distance between thoughts and action

  1. Discipline is tough, I admit. I have had my struggles. But it is also a muscle that needs to be developed over a period of time, little by little. Don’t berate yourself for falling. Know that you are doing the best you can where you are with what you have. Celebrate- It’s Friday! Fro a new returnee, that must be a happy thought. Have a good weekend. Cheers!

    • I think laziness gets the best of me when it comes to discipline on the personal front. As long as we live we have room for improvement. with each attempt I can stay on the proverbial wagon longer, hopefully a day will soon come when i wont fall off the wagon anymore…….. and yes weekend is a seriously uplifting thought for me(thats what kept me going throught the week!! LOL). Hope you have a good weekend too!

Tell me what you think

