How much can a bucket hold?

Finally I did it. I made my very own bucket list of things to do before I turn 35.

It was difficult. First to acknowledge that I am advancing in age ( 35 is still 28 moths away… I am not 20 anymore…. ) and second to stop being lazy and to take action. I started with reading what others had to say about making bucket lists – click links here and here.

I put only 15 items on my list and am being generous with time, giving myself over two years to finish. I almost amazed myself that I had more places to see (passive)on my list than things I wanted to do (active) and also the number of things I don’t want to do – Skydiving for example. I guess it told me  a lot about my mental age. In my mind I am 45 already! So making a bucket list was a challenge to myself to get thinking outside the safe, comfortable and routine options.

My first stage also included reading up blogs and posts of those who had achieved all on their bucket list. Among other people , I looked at King Solomon from the Old testament who in his own words, ” denied myself nothing my eyes desired; I refused my heart no pleasure” yet he goes on to say, ” Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done, and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun”. As expected, most of the people who did manage to cross off all things from their bucket list, went on and made another list. As for those who could not strike off all items on theirs, well…solace is to be found in the effort put in into things that were accomplished. It might seem pointless to start making a bucket list if achieving that is not going to make a dent in our lives.

That said, there is a reason why  I made mine.

The reason is Hope. I think Hope for the future is what gives life so much dimensions. Our plans for tomorrow as based on our hope to receiving another day in our account. It can be something that drives us and it can be something that keeps us motivated.It is the hope of things unseen that translates into faith and then into action.

I can tell you from experience, it takes a lot of time and if unlike me you decide to post your bucket list on a public platform, there is a lot of accountability that goes with it. Obviously, you also have to devise a plan to make the things on your bucket list happen and free up physical, emotional and material resources to achieve what you set out to do. But If the reward is hope and if the reason is to live life in a more positive and vibrant way because of that then it is totally worth it.

My bucket holds a little piece of the ocean. and even though I did not cross the ocean, I at least came in close contact with it and make some mine.

Now only if I could remember that there is no “Bucket List Genie” who would come and make these wishes come true. (in my defense , I still thinking about my bucket list while I was making a Madhubani doodle of the genie!!)

Phir Milenge!

Tell me what you think

