The works of our hands.

Type “what do people think I do” on google and you would find a series of images doing the rounds on the internet these days describing different professions and in the same spirit of humour  I created the following image using Microsoft clipart.

Stay-at-home-mom is subjected to same stereotypes as any other job in the world but as I am realizing it is just as important and fulfilling as any other job can possibly be. Before I became a mother I designed landscapes for a living. Onset of spring is also the onset of our busiest working season- Lot of designing, paper work and doing the rounds of the construction sites. Don’t get me wrong, I like my profession. I can only speak for myself that there is much more to me than my profession. Its a part of my life not the be-all of it.

Working is what defines most of our adult lives. Our dreams and aspirations as children are linked to the work we would like to do when we grow up. Attitudes change with age when what we like to do becomes making a living – an exercise of making ends meet. If who we are and what we are worth are tied only with the work we do to make our living from nine to five then we can be really disillusioned especially if we loose the job. Work just like life has to have a higher purpose than ourselves. It has to strike a balance between what needs to be done and how it defines us. I remembered these lines from the Geeta…

Karmanye vadhikaraste ma phaleshu kadachna
Karmaphalehtur bhurma te sangostvakarmani.
Ch. 2, 47
In English, it would mean:
you can only control the works that you do , do not worry about the fruit (or the outcome)। Never consider yourself the cause of the results of your activities, and never be attached to doing your duty.
The Bible also say in Colossians 3:23,
“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not men.”
Our work cannot be simply reduced to what it does for us ( a pay check) nor can it be the essence of our lives. Our work whatever it may be serves a purpose and also impacts other people’s lives. As a stay-at-home mom I realize the work that I do has meaning beyond just cooking, cleaning and laundry, or even nurturing  a new born life. I read somewhere, ” The totality of our lives is greater than sum of it parts” 
I cannot fit my work into a simple equation of effort +  monetary rewards= success. The impact of what we do often reacher farther than our own selves. Sometimes it can become an act of worship. Staying at home with my daughter is as much a service to the Almighty as was designing gardens.
The wisdom of old tells us to detach our self worth from the work that we do and I believe its true. We bring something of ourselves to each task that we do and that is what makes the works of our hands unlike any other.
Phir Milenge!!
One thought on “The works of our hands.

Tell me what you think

