India in my heart: Accessories

I am a very simple person but I like to dress up on occasion. Especially if it is an occasion which would require me to dress up in ethnic wear.

Confession : I do most of my buying in India but I do love to scout the local-Indian shops for their collections.

Apart from Indian fabrics, I love all sorts of accessories although I personally don’t own as many pieces as I would want. šŸ™‚

The hindu bride usually wears 16 items of adornment called “Solah Shringaar” which includes the wedding dress, necklace, earrings, nose ring, toe rings, bangles, armlets, waistband, bindi, hair and head ornaments as well as kohl (kajal) lined eyes, flowers, perfume, henna and vermilion(sindoor). Different regions have different style of accessories and some accessories are worn all across the board….religion and region notwithstanding.

The diversity of designs and styles of accessories is amazing. There is a huge list of items that can be covered in this topic but I will reserve that discussion for later.

Do let me know if you own some special pieces of ethnic accessories.

Phir Milenge!!

3 thoughts on “India in my heart: Accessories

Tell me what you think

