Telling an old tale afresh.

Over the course of last one year, I have been practicing drawing in Madhubani Style. It is a style of painting from Bihar region in India. Most paintings depicts Hindu deities and stories from mythology. The style is two-dimensional and most striking feature of this style is the line work, geometric patterns and the style of human and animal figures.

Let me clarify at the onset, I don’t have any formal training. I am self-taught, working with ink on paper, attempting to create my own styles and use new themes. Currently I am working on a series of drawings depicting the story of Noah from the Bible

I did the story in eight panels of 8″ X 8″. This is a work in progress and I intend to color it in.

Image

Noah receives the instruction to build the ark.

Image

He gathers the animals and birds in pairs.

Image

The ark floats on the flood waters.

Image

The dove with the Olive branch signalling that the flood waters are receding and land can be seen.

I hope you enjoy these images as much I enjoyed drawing them.

Phir Milenge!!

9 thoughts on “Telling an old tale afresh.

  1. Pingback: Day 10: revisiting the ‘Forests of Honey’ | Jaajaabor

Tell me what you think

